6 ingredient green smoothie

a simply delicious green smoothie

Kale is my new BFF. And to think that just a few days ago it scared the heck out of me. I took the plunge and made Kale Cubes and this morning I made my first green smoothie. It was super easy. All it took was 6 ingredients and is simply delicious.

green smoothie by loopylocks

a simply delicious green smoothie by loopylocks

I knew for this smoothie I wanted to pair the kale with mango and banana. Bananas are a staple in our home and a creamy base for any smoothie. Add to that some mango and you have yourself the makings of a delicious creamy drink. While fresh mangoes are as close to heaven on earth one might be able to get, living in Canada means you have to compromise. Frozen mangoes from your local supermarket are so good and economical. Eaten on their own, they are like popsicle cubes of goodness when you are needing a quick, sweet, cold fix.

I also could have made this green smoothie with almond milk or dairy but I wanted to try one with coconut water and knew that the ingredients could hold their own in the creaminess department. If you don’t have coconut water on hand, just use water and add a teaspoon or two of honey to sweeten it to your liking.

As if kale was not enough goodness, I added chia seeds because it is not only great for you but also blends beautifully. You could try flax instead. I saw several green smoothie recipes with the addition of lemon and I wanted to give it a try here.  I also know that citrus stops fruits and veggies from turning colour and I wanted my smoothie as green as they come. I am really happy with the results and it was incredibly filling.

“A Simply Delicious Green Smoothie” by loopylocks
Makes just under 2 cups
prep time: 2 minutes

Ingredients:
1 C coconut water
1 banana
1 C frozen mango cubes
3 cubes frozen Kale Cubes
2 T chia seeds
1/2 lemon, squeezed

Directions:
Add all the ingredients to a blender in the order above. If you add the frozen ingredients first, some blenders can hesitate. Blend on high until smooth. Tip – remember to soak the blender after you are done and your glass… dry smoothie is no fun to clean. Enjoy!

green smoothie by loopylocks

Leave a Reply

