"blueberry spinach banana smoothie" by loopylocks

Blueberry Spinach Banana Smoothie

This 6 ingredient simple smoothie is too good not to share. Yesterday I posted about Spinach Ice, so I thought it only fair to show you how I have been enjoying it. What makes this smoothie so great is that you can get a 6 year old to drink spinach and mask it as blueberries! The finished smoothie is not green so it is a clever Mummy cheat.  If I had told my son to try a spinach smoothie, let’s just say it would not have gone over well. But if I say, “Hey, wanna try a blueberry banana smoothie I just made (notice the omission of the ingredient spinach)?” Jackpot.

“Blueberry Spinach Banana Smoothie”
Makes about 2 cups
prep time: 2 minutes

Ingredients:
1 C unsweetened almond milk (or milk if you prefer)
1/2 C frozen blueberries
4 cubes frozen spinach ice
1 banana
1 T peanut butter (or any favourite nut butter)
1 T ground flax or chia seeds

Directions:
Add all the ingredients to a blender and blend on high until smooth. Tip – If you happen to own an ancient blender like me that is not “ninja” in any way, it is easier to add the frozen ingredients last so the blender does not hesitate.  Also, remember to soak the blender after you are done and your glass… dry smoothie is no fun to clean. I actually like to eat this with a spoon. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

