Spinach Ice

img_3740

Spinach Ice by loopylocks

When I learned that instead of using ice cubes in my smoothies I could blend up spinach and substitute ice for spinach ice, I was truly amazed! Maybe I am the last person on the planet to know this ? but I will say I had a smile on my face for the whole day 🙂

This is the easiest thing to do and also is a great money saver because I cannot tell you how many times I have bought a huge container of spinach for salads only to have it sit around in my fridge until it goes slimy and needs to be thrown out. Spinach Ice is like the good old adage of having your cake and eating it too! Well maybe not, but I think you get what I mean… haha.

“Spinach Ice” by loopylocks
Makes 24 frozen cubes
prep time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:
1 large container of fresh baby spinach
1/2 – 1 C water

Directions:
All you need is a blender and 2 ice cube trays. Put the whole container spinach in the blender and add the water. Start with a 1/2 C water first, if you find the spinach is not blending, gradually add water until you can get a good green sludge happening. Since I like icy smoothies, I added about a cup of water. So you can surely experiment with how much water you like to add. Freeze and then store in a large freezer Ziploc for using whenever you need them. Voila!

Tip – I use about 6 cubes for a smoothie and I also add them to my dinner meals when I need to hide veggies from my kids!

Spinach Ice by loopylocks

 

4 thoughts on “Spinach Ice

  1. cookandenjoyrecipes says:

    What a fantastic idea. I am a smoothie-holic and will have to try this one. You also gained a new follower and will be back again. Hope you will have a second or two to hop over and see what we have to offer on our end

    Like

Leave a Reply

