Blueberry Chia Oat Muffins

As winter sets in, one cannot help but feel like hibernating until Spring arrives. Feeling a bit like a grizzly bear and knowing that bears and blueberries are buddies, I thought I would try my hand at making some muffins with a healthy twist. There is nothing quite like a fresh warm muffin to comfort the soul/belly.

Confession… I am kind of new at sharing recipes on my blog. I once shared a recipe on making Bajan lemonade with Malibu Coconut Rum but that’s pretty much it! I personally like to print out my recipes and work from a printout so that I can tweak them if I change any of the ingredients. Nowadays I just Pin a recipe to my Pinterest account and make it from my iPad in the kitchen. Whatever works for you. The recipe is at the bottom.

The basics of this recipe are simple. Dry stuff first. Then add wet. Fold in the berries and you are pretty much good to go. I recently have added chia seeds to my diet and must confess I am a bit in love with absolutely everything about them. I am not going to get in to how much of a ‘superfood’ they are right now (you’re welcome), I will let you google that for yourself. These muffins are my first attempt to bake with them and certainly not my last.

I was inspired from the recipe book that came with my Kitchen Aid stand mixer many moons ago. I make their ‘Blueberry Oat Bread’ recipe all the time and over the years, I have  played with it many different ways – as bread, muffins, with chocolate chips, raisins, cranberries, orange rind, lemon rind, applesauce, coconut, cinnamon (instead of all spice)… you name it, I’ve tried it. So I cannot take full credit for this recipe without giving it where due. The original recipe uses old fashioned oats and I am sure they would make these muffins more hearty. I just happen to have run out, so the quick oats were a go to for this  attempt. Not knowing how the chia seeds and quick oats would work together, I added some sour cream (or you can try yogurt) to make sure there would be enough moisture. Feel free to add more of less if you think it needs some help.

The key to this recipe is to use frozen wild blueberries. My photo above was taken with fresh blueberries I had on hand but the frozen ones are the ones you really want. A bonus to this delicious recipe is that the chia seeds virtually disappear in the muffins so little picky people will never know.

“Blueberry Chia Oat Muffins” by loopylocks
Makes about 20 muffins

Ingredients:

Dry
2 C        unbleached all-purpose flour
1 C         quick oats
1 C         brown sugar, loosely packed
1/4 C     chia seeds
2 tsp     ground cinnamon
2 tsp     baking powder
1 tsp     baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Wet
3/4 C     1 or 2% milk
1/3 C     sour cream or yogurt
1/2 C     canola oil
2            eggs
2 tsp     vanilla essence
1 1/4 C  frozen blueberries

Directions:
Set oven to 450 degrees and line muffin pans with cupcake liners. Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl or mixer and stir to combine them all together. Add all the wet ingredients (except the blueberries and sour cream/yogurt). With the flat beater attachment, turn to Stir speed for 30 seconds in the mixer. If by hand, stir with a fork until all the ingredients are just mixed together. Fold in the frozen blueberries and sour cream/yogurt using a spatula. Using an ice cream scooper (I like to spray mine with cooking spray), drop spoonfuls into the muffin pan. Depending on how big you like to fill your muffin liners, you can get up to 20 muffins.

Bake at 450 for 5 minutes, then turn heat down to 350 for 20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. The higher temperature to start helps give the muffins a nice brown top. Remove from the oven. Cool. Enjoy.

IMG_1558

blueberry chia oat muffins by loopylocks

 

One thought on “Blueberry Chia Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

