40 wishes

This year I turned 40. I approached this milestone with excitement and a “bring it on” attitude. Yes there are the cliches: 40 is the new 30, life begins at 40, fit at 40… and so on. For me, turning 40 is like a new lease. I plan on doing things I want to do, when I want and how I want. At least this is what I shared with my husband… and now, well, you.

I will also let you in on a little secret, I can procrastinate just a little. The fact that it is now November 5th and I am just now getting around to posting this speaks for itself. I like to think of it as part of my West Indian upbringing and culture. This “no worries”, take it easy, chilax approach I am hugely grateful for, for the most part. It is part of who I am and know that it is also responsible for allowing me to raise my kids in Canada with a down to earth, relaxed approach to life.

So on my 40th birthday I have decided to make 40 wishes to myself. Call them promises, mantras, cliches or personal commandments if you will. Wishes (in no particular order) I hope to remember to for the next 40 years:

  1. It’s going to be OK.
  2. This too shall pass.
  3. Smile. It is contagious.
  4. Trust life. What else can you do?
  5. Stay calm.
  6. Tea helps.
  7. Be present.
  8. It’s OK to say No.
  9. Trust my instincts.
  10. Make it work.
  11. Look for the good.
  12. Love life always.
  13. Be open to all possibilities.
  14. Take it in.
  15. Talk less, listen more.
  16. Sadness is OK too.
  17. Stop. Breathe. Think. Act.
  18. Be kind to others.
  19. Decide what I want.
  20. Ask for what I need.
  21. Don’t worry, it solves nothing.
  22. Think, but not too much.
  23. Expect change.
  24. Music helps.
  25. Kids matter.
  26. Stuff doesn’t matter.
  27. Live each day like it is the last.
  28. Humour helps.
  29. Read good books more often.
  30. Give compliments, it’s a win-win feeling.
  31. Criticize less.
  32. Embrace loopy hair (people pay good money for it).
  33. Sip wine or rum punch whenever the opportunity presents itself.
  34. Enjoy good conversation.
  35. Stay current.
  36. Sleep in as much as possible.
  37. Or wake early for extra quiet time.
  38. Stay active.
  39. Eat less.
  40. Wish for the best always.
2 thoughts on “40 wishes

  1. tarabursey says:

    Congrats on turning 40, Rachel. I had a big birthday this year, too: 3-0! Some people get bummed about milestone birthdays, but I’m loving 30. I’ve felt thirty for at least the last 2 or 3 years, actually. I think/hope the 30s will be a little calmer and less insecure. Bottom line is I’m really looking forward to the next 10…!

    Love to you, Tony and the kids.

    T

    xo

    Like

  2. loopylocks says:

    Thanks, Tara! Congrats on your milestone too. I must admit that my 30’s were a bit of a blur… I had the first 3 kids by the time I turned 30 and there were days with a 4 year old, a 2 year old and a colicky infant when I was not sure which way was up! I remember trying to remind myself to breathe. But before you know it, you blink and 10 years goes by. Enjoy the next 10, it’s all worth it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

