our wish

On August 22, 2010 we welcomed the birth of our fourth child, a son, to our family. Life is truly beautiful. Our family is now complete with 2 girls and 2 boys. Their initials spell the word W-I-S-H and we could not have asked for more. He is gorgeous.  Little W is not so little. Weighing 9 1/2 pounds, he broke all the records in our family and extended family of grand kids for being the biggest baby ever.

The last two and a half months have been a whirlwind of emotions.  We have been blessed with mostly highs. W sleeps when he sleeps and cries when he cries. He is such a blessing that it is hard to complain about sleep deprivation. Our home has also succumb to any and everything baby. Our dining table is now grand central for diaper changes, bath times, bouncy chairs and the odd dinner time when it is clear enough to eat a meal.

Being 8 years since our third was born, we have forgotten a thing or three. I have forgotten how demanding a newborn can be. I have forgotten, or perhaps took for granted that breastfeeding would come naturally. This munchkin has been so insatiable I have been unable to keep up an adequate milk supply. My other kids had no trouble nursing and I had plenty milk. This time has been quite different, however. From Fenugreek to raspberry leaf tea, to beer, to the odd glass of Guinness, I have been putting in my best effort to keep the wee one feeling full and content. Not an easy task. Then there has been the unfortunate reality that W is a bit colicky. He has had 2 to 3 unexplained episodes of crying throughout the day. Since our girls had colic, I think my husband and I are now old hat at it. Crying does not phase me in the least. Happily, he is on the up and out now and as he turns 3 months in a few days, hopefully the worst is behind us.

As for the “ISH” in our family, I could not ask for more loving, helpful children. Whenever I need anything – a glass of water, a breastfeeding pillow, a remote control or a cordless phone, voila! – they step in and lend a hand. They ask all the time how they can help, even if it is just to turn the oven off or stir a pot. Just this morning, as I was getting the kids lunches ready,  my 10 year old son called my eldest “a Half Mummy” as she came to hold W. I cannot find a better description for her. At 12, H is the most capable of soothing W and lending a helping hand. All the kids have been wonderful actually. If I had a dollar for every time my third says…”He’s just so cute!” I’d be a wealthy woman right now. Come to think of it, I am the richest Mum I know.

Leave a Reply

